Your gateway to fun filled adventure!
Punishing sins for Miracles users

Home Forums Savage Worlds – Core Rules & Savage Settings Hellfrost Punishing sins for Miracles users

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Awroe
    Minion

Since I’m new to Hellfrost there’s a good chance that this has been asked before but I’m going to ask it again, I hope you don’t mind.

There seems to be a slight imbalance between The Siphoning (wizards using too much magic) and those using Miracles to cast spells. It seems that the worst that can happen is that the priest suffers a level of fatigue for an hour which whilst cumulative effects could be bad news it doesn’t seem as severe as Siphoning.

Also I can’t see anything regarding how a priest might be punished for a sin at whatever level, though I might have missed this.

Is their any additional guidance on this?

If not, would it be worth having a priest roll on the Siphoning table if their Deity thinks they’re taking too many liberties?

“Never violate a woman, nor harm a child. Do not lie, cheat or steal. These things are for lesser men. Protect the weak against the evil strong. And never allow thoughts of gain to lead you into the pursuit of evil.”
    David Gemmell.

Enno
    Henchman

You only saw a small part of the picture. Just by comparing the Backlash rules of the Arcane and Miracles your are missing a lot.

Firstly, when a cleric rolls a 1 on his Faith die, regardless of the Wild die, she’s automatically Shaken. This may cause a wound, if already Shaken. Like any trait roll, it may be rerolled by spending a Bennie. (See HF PHB).

Secondly, when a cleric takes the Arcane Background (Miracles) he automatically gets the Connection Edge, but the Orders Hindrance too. This hindrance doesn’t count toward his starting Hindrance limits, nor does he earn any points during or after character generation for it (See HF PHB).