Your gateway to fun filled adventure!
More questions

This topic contains 2 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Enno 2 years, 4 months ago. This post has been viewed 111 times

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #6337

    Centollo
    Minion

    Thanks once more for being here to answer my neverending questions.

    I’ve been thinking about two things:

    First, if someone is shaken and affected by a hazard (like, on fire) and his turn comes up, does he roll for recoverying from being shaken before of after being affected by the hazard?
    I would rule he rolls for shaken after, that way the character wont become shaken again just after recovering, but the hazard would wound him more easily.

    The second thing is burrowing, both the spell and the special ability.

    An earth elemental can burrow 10” each turn amd has a pace of 4.
    Could it burrow the 10 squares(we play in a grid), pop up and move normally up to it’s pace in one turn?

    Could it pop up, attack, and go back to burrowing or is the burrowing done for the turn as soon as it pops up?

    How aware of what’s happening in the surface is the burrower?

    Can one burrow vertically in order to reach the bottom of a pit or the top of a building?

    What happens if a caster stops maintaining the burrowing spell while melted with the ground? It could happen.

    Can a caster carry things while burrowing? Like his armor, weapons or a box in his “hands”.

    #6338

    Enno
    Henchman

    First, if someone is shaken and affected by a hazard (like, on fire) and his turn comes up, does he roll for recoverying from being shaken before of after being affected by the hazard?
    I would rule he rolls for shaken after, that way the character wont become shaken again just after recovering, but the hazard would wound him more easily.

    Depends on the situation. The character might be subject to the hazard before his turn, at the beginning or at the end. So it might happen, that he becomes Shaken again, just after recovering the moment before. In the end it’s the GMs call.

    Don’t forget that a player may spend a Benny at any time to remove her Shaken status (even when it is not her turn).

    Could it burrow the 10 squares(we play in a grid), pop up and move normally up to it’s pace in one turn?

    Sure, as long as it has the movement.

    It’s suggested that when stacking different forms of movement (basic Pace, Burrowing, Flight, Swimming), each additional one counts as a normal action instead of a free one, giving the usual -2 MAP on an eventual attack.

    Could it pop up, attack, and go back to burrowing or is the burrowing done for the turn as soon as it pops up?

    It’s like any other movement. Attacks can be made at any point during movement, so a burrowing creature can do the same. That’s why being on Hold is such an important tactic against such creatures.

    How aware of what’s happening in the surface is the burrower?

    Being “in a limbo” a burrower usually has no effect on the surface while underground, but that depends on the trapping. Here comes the mentioned surprise roll (Stealth vs. Notice) into play.

    Can one burrow vertically in order to reach the bottom of a pit or the top of a building?

    Yes, you can burrow anywhere as long as it is through raw earth.

    What happens if a caster stops maintaining the burrowing spell while melted with the ground? It could happen.

    The former target of the spell will be subject to suffocation, i think. 😉

    Can a caster carry things while burrowing? Like his armor, weapons or a box in his “hands”.

    Sure, the powers description doesn’t say otherwise. Might depend on the trappings though.

    Theoretically the burrower might even dump objects he carried underground, if the GM and the trappings allow it. Finding them again later is a completely different matter. It’s not like the burrower has an exact point of reference underground.

    High Priest of Hoenir & Champion of Qedeshet

    #6345

    Enno
    Henchman

    Since your questions concerned parts of the SW core rules, the Pinnacle forum is the place to go for an official answer. 😉

    High Priest of Hoenir & Champion of Qedeshet

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close